The Governing Body

The Governing Body The Governing Body at Coundon Court is responsible for the strategic oversight of school improvement and the quality of its daily work. It works with the Headteacher to:

  1. Ensure the quality of educational provision at Coundon Court through strategic review and quality assurance of the curriculum, lesson quality and student and staff experiences.
  2. Challenge and monitor the examination outcomes and other key performance indicators.
  3. Scrutinise, monitor and approve Coundon Court’s finances and property management.
  4. Ensure that Coundon Court complies with charity and company law.
  5. Operate the academy in accordance with the funding agreement that has been signed with the Secretary of State i.e. it provides a good educational experience on a daily basis and that all funds support this.

The Governors represent a range of interests from within the local community, the City of Coventry and the wider region. Their task is to form a link between the needs and aspirations of these communities and the school’s work.

How it works

The Academy Trust is the formal responsibility of four Members. They are responsible for setting up and maintain effective governance of the school. This responsibility is then delegated to the Full Governing Body of around 16 Governors.

The full Governing Body meets four times a year and the meetings last for approximately two hours. We start at 5.30 but gather at five for informal conversation about the school and its work.

The formal agenda allows for scrutiny of the schools’ work as well as a chance for Governors to develop knowledge and understanding of the changing educational landscape, in order to facilitate their decision making and judgment forming ability.

Each Governor also sits on one of two sub committees. The Quality and Standards Committee manages business connected to learning and examination outcomes. The Finance and Premises committee looks at budget planning and site management issues. These sub committees meet four to six times a year.

Governors also visit subject areas twice a year for an update on standards within lessons.

The Headteacher works closely with Governors to equip them with the necessary educational understanding to manage these meetings and visits.

From time to time the Governing Body is also required to engage in formal processes related to student discipline and industrial relations. There are 16 governors so the load is spread out evenly throughout the year. It is hopefully not too big a commitment that it would put anyone off joining.

The Chair of Governors is Mark Payne. The Members are: Mark Payne, Mick Rawson, Corrie Harris and Karen Dodd.

A full breakdown of all the Governors, their backgrounds and responsibilities is found below. This also includes a detailed explanation of the committees' roles and terms of reference. 

Board of Governors

Name Status Local
Attendance Date
Term of
Declaration of Business Interest
Mark Payne Member/Appointed      01/01/12 31/03/17 Mount Nod Primary City College - FE College - Competitor
Mark McNally Appointed      22/09/15 21/09/19    None
Antony Cash Appointed      07/07/15 06/07/19   None
Joanne Doyle Parent Yes   11/03/14  10/03/18   None
Bryn Lewis Parent Yes   11/03/14 10/03/18   None
Christopher Millerchip Parent     11/03/14 10/03/18    None
Joanne Humphrey Parent     08/12/15 07/12/19   None
Andrew Clay Headteacher     01/09/14 Ongoing   None
Amanda Donnelley Staff      07/07/15 06/07/19   None
Billy Belstone Staff     13/12/16     None
Tom Roberts Appointed     05/07/16     None
Tosha Churitter Appointed      05/07/16     None
Ravi Vesta Appointed Pending DBS           None
Sharon Johal Appointed Pending DBS           None
Doris Butterworth Appointed Pending DBS           None


Sub-Committee Composition
Quality & Standards
Finance & Premises
Pay Committee Chairs
Joanne Doyle Antony Cash Mark Payne Mark Payne (COG)
Bryn Lewis Amanda Donnelly Bryn Lewis Bryn Lewis (Vice)
Andrew Clay Christopher Millerchip Joanne Doyle  Joanne Doyle (Q&S)
Joanne Humphrey Andrew Clay Antony Cash Antony Cash (F&P)
Tom Roberts Mark Payne     
Doris Butterworth Mark McNally    
Joe Sweeney Ravi Vesta    
Tosha Churriter Sharon Johal    
Billy Belstone      


Governors Delegated Roles for Specific Monitoring
School Activity Links - Named Links For:
FGB Learning Team Review 1 Learning Team Review 2
Mark Payne
Joanne Humphrey
Inclusion - Visit 1 Sageguarding - Visit 2
Christopher Millerchip H&S/Risk Management - Visit 1 H&S/Risk Management - Visit 2
Joanne Doyle Sixth Form 1 Sixth Form 2


Learning Team Review Visits
Mark McNally English Paul McChleery
Joanne Humphrey RE/Geography/History Lisa Roberts/Emma Smart/Lydia Norman
Christopher Millerchip Social Sciences Jenni Thomas
Mick Rawson Science Chris Connor/Andrew Sellars
Bryn Lewis MFL Anthony Mosely/Harpal Singh Jandu
Mick Rawson Art/D&T Claire Green/Stuart Holes/Emma Harkin
Doris Butterworth Performing Arts Anthony Dix
Vacancy PE Marc Thomas
Anthony Cash SEND Jane Jones


House Links
Name House
Mark Payne Pride 
Joanne Doyle Courage 
Mark McNally Honour 
Antony Cash Pride
Joanne Humphrey Courage 
Bryn Lewis Honour
Christopher Millerchip Pride 
Joe Sweene Courage 
Andrew Clay Honour
Amanda Donnelly Pride


Governors can be contacted at the Academy as follows:  

Coundon Court,
Northbrook Road,

marked "For the attention of The Company Secretary".

Email - This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Tel – 024 7633 5121 - please ask for "The Company Secretary"

Our Annual Report and Financial Statement Information